Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


19 January 2014

Club News


19 January 2014

We want your views on what should be put forward as the Gills Goal of the Year for 2013

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2013 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2013 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by tweeting your selection from the list below to the club’s official twitter account @TheGillsFC, by leaving a comment on our Facebook page,, or by emailing your selection to

Alternatively you can watch the goals on gfcofficial, and cast your vote by commenting on the clip. The goals are also embedded at the bottom of this page.

The Closing date for nominations is Tuesday January 21 at 5pm.

Our selected nominees for the Goal of the Year 2013 are as follows:

GOAL A – Matt Fish v Accrington Stanley (MEMS Priestfield Stadium, March 23 2013)

The right-back found the top corner with a terrific left foot strike from just outside the box to beat former Manchester United goalkeeper Paul Rachubka.

His effort powered in to the roof of the net to start the celebrations at the Rainham End; the goal being enough to clinch a 1-0 victory.

You can see highlights of that game here.

GOAL B – Danny Kedwell v Fleetwood Town (Highbury Stadium, March 30 2013)

The Gills number nine struck early with a fantastic chip over Scott Davies, following some great work by Adam Birchall to pick out his strike partner.

Kedwell spotted the keeper off his line and delicately chipped it over the Fleetwood number one to put the Gills in front.

You can see highlights of that game here.

GOAL C – Cody McDonald v Swindon Town (County Ground, August 24 2013)

The lively striker came off the subs bench to seal a point for the Gills after a long clearance by Leon Legge was superbly controlled by the forward.

He cut inside from the left flank and with his right foot beat the helpless Wes Foderingham.

You can see highlights of that game here.

GOAL D – Joe Martin v Crewe Alexandra (The Alexandra Stadium, September 28 2013)

In a dominant display for the Gills it was Joe Martin who made the score 2-0 with a magnificently taken free kick shortly after the interval.

From 20 yards the left back curled it around the wall and in to the top corner, giving Steve Phillips in the Alex goal no chance.

You can see highlights of that game here

GOAL E – Chris Whelpdale v Notts County (MEMS Priestfield Stadium, October 22 2013)

The midfielder gave Gills the lead over County with a fantastic effort just inside the penalty area.

Myles Weston delivered a great ball to the back post; Whelpdale took a touch to bring it inside and powered the ball home with an accurate right foot shot.

You can see highlights of that game here.

GOAL F – Bayo Akinfenwa v Tranmere (Prenton Park, December 20 2013)

The striker scored his first of two on the night with a fantastic right foot effort on the volley across Owain Fon Williams in to the opposite corner.

Bradley Dack took a heavy touch and a 50/50 ball worked its way in to the path of Akinfenwa who converted the opportunity with a top class finish.

You can see highlights of that game here.

GOAL G – Cody McDonald v Walsall (MEMS Priestfield Stadium, December 29 2013)

With the scores deadlocked at 0-0 at the break, Cody pulled off a spectacular overhead kick just seconds after the re-start to put Peter Taylor’s side in front.

A short pass from Craig Fagan was met with a decent first touch to sit the ball up, and he adjusted his body beautifully to put the effort in to the top corner.

You can see highlights of that game here. The goal itself, including live radio commentary, can be seen here.

When you nominate be sure to outline clearly your chosen selection, and our goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2014. 

A judging panel will then review the goals with the top 10 being shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM on 9th February. 

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday 16th March.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account