Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


25 April 2016

Two Gills players named in PFA's divisional team of 2015/16

Gillingham players John Egan and Bradley Dack have been named in the PFA’s League One Team of the Year.

Irish defender Egan, 23, and 22-year-old Dack were voted among the best 11 players in the division by PFA members from other Football League clubs.

This latest accolade from Dack follows him being voted League One’s Player of the Year, and a member of the Football League Team of the Year, at last Sunday’s FL Awards.

 “We’re delighted that two of our players have made that team, it’s a tremendous accolade for the players, and the club,” said Gills manager Justin Edinburgh.

“There have been many other outstanding performers in our team, but maybe when the voting came around, we probably weren’t in our best form, so I can understand that they missed out.

“For example, Stuart Nelson has had a remarkable season, he’s been consistent and made match-winning saves. Of late, I think Max Ehmer has been outstanding; he’s probably been the best defender in the league for the last 15 games.”

The PFA had planned to reveal the team at its annual awards ceremony yesterday, but published them early because the details were leaked.

The full PFA League One Team of the Year is:

Jon McLaughlin (Bradford); Reece Wabara (Wigan), John Egan (Gillingham), Craig Morgan (Wigan), Rico Henry (Walsall); Yanic Wildschut (Wigan), Bradley Dack (Gillingham), Romaine Sawyers (Walsall), Mark Duffy (Burton); Will Grigg (Wigan), Adam Armstrong (Coventry).

Advertisement block