Player of the Year Awards 2013

We announce the players that received honours at tonight’s centenary gala dinner

No less than five player collected honours at tonight’s Centenary Player of the Season dinner, held in the Great Hall at MEMS Priestfield Stadium.

League Two Championship winning Skipper Adam Barrett collected the highest honour, the GFC Supporters Player of the Year and made it a double by also being named Away Supporters Player of the Year.

Clean sheet king Stuart Nelson was presented with the MEMS Player of the Year by our main sponsors Chairman Colin Jarvis. The Gills keeper also received the Chairman’s Cup for outstanding achievement and finished second behind captain Barrett in the Supporters Player award.

Matt Fish won the Goal of the Season shield for his stunning strike against Accrington Stanley, as well as claiming third place in the Supporters Player award. The Goal of the Season runners-up were Danny Kedwell for his goal against Bradford, while Deon Burton’s winner against Morecambe was third.

Full-back Joe Martin was voted Players Player of the Year, Bradley Dack collected the Young Player of the Year trophy while long serving Club Secretary Gwen Poynter was honoured with the Elliot Scally Trophy for special achievement with Gillingham FC.

Pictures courtesy of Sports Images