Player from under-nine to 16 teams celebrated at Friday night's event

Gillingham FC Schoolboys Development Manager Bryan Bull praised the club’s developing stars at Friday night’s Academy Player of the Year awards.

The event, which took place at the MEMS Priestfield Stadium, saw youth-team player Danny Divine win the headline Under 16s Player of the Year prize. 
“As always, it has been a hugely enjoyable season,” said Bull, “and this provided a difficult job for the players to nominate somebody in their age range, as there have been so many outstanding performances across the eight schoolboy groups.

“I am delighted with the overall level that we see here, so congratulations are due both to the players and our hugely-committed staff, who have helped them along the way.”

Prize winners at the event were:

Danny Divine: under-16s
“A promising defender who has played the second half of the season in the youth team,” said Bull.

Ollie Marsh: under-15s                
Bull said: “A left-back and midfielder, Ollie has improved tremendously since joining us 18 months ago.”

Charlie Blanks: under-14s  
“Charlie has been with us since he was eight; he is a physically-imposing centre-back,” added Bull.

Perri Iandolo: under-13s
“Perri is either a midfield player or forward, who is excellent at manoeuvring the ball in tight areas,” said Bull.

Tylar Sait: under-12s
Bull added: “Centre-half Tylar has excelled this season, his first full one with the club.”

George Hutcheon: under-11s
“Currently a forward player, George is exceptionally bright with good vision, and is also a strong finisher,” said Bull.

Henry Young: under-10s
Bull said: “As with most young players, Henry plays a lot of different positions, but has really excelled as a central midfield player

Hugo Taylor: under-nines
“Hugo has been a consistent performer this season playing mainly in defence. He reads the game very well for someone so young,” said Bull.

Friday night's event comes five days after Bradley Dack won five awards the club's annual Player of the Year dinner.