Preview: Maidstone United v Gillingham

Steve Lovell's side looking to book semi-final spot in the Kent Cup.


Gallagher Stadium

Kent Senior Cup

Tuesday 16th January

Kick Off 7:45pm

Team News:

After Gillingham’s 2-1 victory over Rochdale on Saturday, Steve Lovell has admitted that he is very keen to bring a strong team to Maidstone with a selection of first team players being involved with Alex Lacey, Ben Nugent, Connor Ogilvie, Darren Oldaker, Elliott List, Conor Wilkinson and Greg Cundle all set to be included.

Jay Saunders’ side will be without their main talisman Joe Pigott who signed for AFC Wimbledon on Monday. The only injury worry is Tom Wraight who was forced off with a hamstring issue in the first half of their FA Trophy win against Heybridge Swifts. However, Saunders is hopeful the midfielder will be fit for Tuesday’s game.

Manager comments:

Steve Lovell: "It will be a good night, it is a bit of a rivalry, one we want to win as they will, it will be one to look forward to but we will see how everyone is on Monday, pick a team and work on it ready for Tuesday.

“There will be boys there who have played League 1 football. There will be a good side going out there, whatever happens, whatever team will be good and we'll give Maidstone a good game. It should be a good battle.”

Jay Saunders: “We will be pretty strong because we haven’t got a big enough squad to rest seven or eight. It’s one to look forward too, there’s going to be a half decent crowd here. It’ll be good to have them down.”

Previous Meetings:

The sides last met in 1992 with game ending in a 1-1 draw at Maidstone, this was due to the Gills opponents being forced to dissolve at the end of that season.

Despite this, it’s the National League side that have the better head to head record, in the nine times the two clubs have faced each other, the stones have won four times in comparison to Gillingham’s one. The two clubs have seen their other four fixtures end in stalemates.


Referee: Paul Yates
Assistant Referees: Nick Dunn and Oliver Jackson
Fourth Official: Joseph Stokes