Preview | AFC Wimbledon v Gillingham

Matty Willock could be in the squad for Gills trip to Kingsmeadow.


The Cherry Red Records Stadium

Sky Bet League 1

Saturday November 23

Kick-off, 3pm

Team News:

Matty Willock (knee) has trained all week and could well be part of the travelling party. Tommy O’Connor has returned from international duty with the Republic of Ireland U21’s but the Manager could keep faith with the same back four that kept clean sheets against both Lincoln and Sunderland.

Mikael Mandron could miss out due to illness.

As for AFC Wimbledon, both Scott Wagstaff and Callum Reilly could feature against their previous clubs, as could Luke O’Neill who left MEMS Priestfield Stadium in the summer.

Striker Marcus Forss returns to the match squad but Michael Folivi (groin) will miss out.  Jack Rudoni is back in contention but Rod McDonald (knee) hasn’t recovered in time. Captain Will Nightingale is out for at least three to four months.


Manager Comments:

Glyn Hodges – "There are many connections between the clubs over the years and we had a good test against them last season. We’ll be prepared and have a plan and put it to work.”


Steve Evans – "AFC Wimbledon is always a tough place to go. It will be difficult because they have some very good players. We are positive as a management team.

“We will go there, be professional and pick an XI to try and win.”

Previous Meetings:

The clubs last met at Kingsmeadow earlier this year where the Gills recorded an impressive 4-2 victory thanks to goals from Brandon Hanlan, Graham Burke, Leo da Silva Lopes and Tom Eaves. AFC Wimbledon won the reverse fixture in Kent, a solitary goal proving enough to seal all three points.

In total the two teams have met on 10 occasions. Gills have won only two while AFC Wimbledon have four victories to their name.



AFC Wimbledon win – 19/10

Draw – 21/10

Gills win – 7/5

Special Bet: Brandon Hanlan to score first in a 2-1 Gills win – 35/1



Referee - Kevin Johnson

Assistant Referee 1 - Carl Fitch-Jackson

Assistant Referee 2 - David Plowright

Fourth Official - Anthony Da Costa