We look ahead to the Gills second home league game of the season against Swindon Town

Sky Bet League One
MEMS Priestfield Stadium
Tuesday August 19
Kick-Off, 7.45pm

Team News:

Manager Peter Taylor has a few injury concerns ahead of Swindon’s visit to Priestfield. Cody McDonald (ankle), Stuart Nelson (thumb), Amine Linganzi (hamstring), Josh Hare (concussion), Joe Martin (knee) and Jermaine McGlashan (hamstring) could all sit out.

Gavin Hoyte is unlikely to feature having just signed for the club on a five month contract; however Brennan Dickenson could be in line to start after regaining full fitness.

As for Swindon, they will be without Louis Thompson following his dismissal against Crawley and so has to serve a mandatory one match ban.

Midfielder Anton Rodgers looks set to miss out through injury once more along with Liverpool loanee Brad Smith.

Smith was taken off during Swindon's 2-1 win over Luton on Tuesday and missed the Crawley defeat with a suspected medial ligament injury.

Manager Comments:

Peter Taylor says he is aware of the history between the two clubs and is looking forward to a potentially exciting fixture.

He said: “I know it is always a bit of special game us against Swindon.

“We played really well against them last year and I would like to do the same again.”

Previous Meetings:

In the club’s two fixtures last season Gills took four points from a possible six, drawing the game at the County Ground 2-2 before taking a 2-0 victory at Priestfield earlier in the year thanks to goals from Leon Legge and Michael Harriman.

However the head to head statistics favour the Robins – Swindon have won 35 of the 92 games the teams have contested. Gills have won 30, with the other 27 resulting in a draw.


Should you fancy a flutter then Danny Kedwell is 11/2 to score the first goal.

For Brennan Dickenson to score the first goal in a 2-0 win, Sky Bet are offering odds of 75/1.

For more great odds across a variety of markets open an account with Sky Bet.


Referee – Charles Breakspear
Assistants – Dave Bushell and Alan Dale
Fourth Official – Ryan T Atkin